Tried & True: Tresemme 24 Hour Body Finishing Spray

Tresemme 24 Hour Body Finishing Spray

Tresemme 24 Hour Body Finishing Spray

I have been using the Tresemme 24 Hour Body Finishing Spray for several years now.  The moment I discovered it, I was in love.  It smells good, it’s inexpensive, and it’s easy to find.  I do have one quibble and that’s the “24 Hour Body” labeling.  I would not consider this to be either a supreme volumizing product, nor would I expect its effects to last all day.  That being said, the title “Finishing Spray” is perfection.  The product is a dream when used for that specific purpose.  If you need long-term hold or if you want a serious root boost, this is not the one for you.  But if you are looking for a spray that lightly sets your style with flexible hold and doesn’t leave you feeling like you’ve got a shit-ton of product in your hair (even with reapplication), then she’s a real winner (I’ve named her Tanya).  I’ve recommended this hair spray to numerous people and I’ve gotten mixed feedback, but I’ve come to the conclusion that the people who were at all displeased were really looking for a spray with significantly more holding power.

You do want to be careful when using a larger amount of this spray as you don’t want to spray it too close to your head or you’ll end up with a bit of a helmet (though that’s really true with any hair spray product).  But the reason I mention it is that if that should happen, I’ve found it’s typically easy to brush out and doesn’t leave too much residue behind, but be particularly careful when using this with any kind of updo as obviously those are not so easy to brush out.  It’s hair spray 101, people – as with any other variety, make sure you spray this from at least 8-10 inches away from your head.  And to follow up on that thought, I wouldn’t actually recommend this for use with any formal updos as it just doesn’t have the staying power you’ll need for one of those.

(Side note: contrary to how I feel about the word “makeup,” I have no definitive stance on “hair spray” vs. “hairspray” – I’ve been known to use both and will most likely continue to use both, though I will try to maintain continuity within any given post.)

Leave a Reply

